May 2011 Archives

An Anthony Award nomination for "Swing Shift!"

| 0 Comments | 0 TrackBacks
Did I say in my last entry that it's been a busy and wonderful two weeks?  I'm delighted to share more good news:  "Swing Shift," a Fangborn short story in the MWA anthology Crimes By Moonlight (edited by Charlaine Harris), has received an Anthony Award nomination for Best Short Story!

The werewolves are going wild!img_6330.jpg

You can read the full list of nominees in all categories here.  Congratulations to all the nominees, and thank you, thank you to my readers!  I can't tell you what this means to me!

The nominations are taken from votes cast by members of Bouchercon, the current year (2011) and the previous year (2010). The awards are named after Anthony Boucher, a book reviewer and early champion of the mystery genre.

Previous winners include New York Times bestselling authors, Robert Crais (The Monkey's Raincoat), Laura Lippman (What The Dead Know), Charlaine Harris (Dead Until Dark), and Nevada Barr (Track of the Cat). The first Anthony Awards were given out in 1986 and included Sue Grafton, Jonathan Kellerman, and Nancy Pickard.

Attendees will vote for this year's winners at the 2011 Bouchercon World Mystery Convention in St. Louis (Sep 15 - 18). The winners will be announced at the awards brunch on the morning of September 18th.

For more information about the Anthony Awards and the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention, please visit

Enhanced by Zemanta

Edgars and Malice 2011 and Malice 2012

| 0 Comments | 0 TrackBacks
img_6320.jpgIt's been a busy, wonderful couple of weeks. 

Ten days ago (was it only ten days?), I was in NYC to present the MWA's Edgar Award for Best Critical/Biographical Work.  Congratulations again to the nominees and to the winner, Yunte Huang, for his work Charlie Chan:  The Untold Story of the Honorable Detective and his Rendezvous with American History.  Thank you again to my hardworking committee:  Charlaine Harris, Dean James, Toni Kelner, and Peter Straub!  (On the left:  Steve, Reed Coleman, Margery Flax, Dan Hale)

Friday, Saturday, and Sunday were devoted to Malice Domestic.  If the Edgars are like img_6328.jpgthe prom for mystery writers, Malice is like a class reunion, where it takes forty minutes to hug your way across the hotel lobby.  I got to catch up with so many friends, including 7/8 of the Femmes Fatales.  I ran into Elaine and Kris in the hallway, Mary Saums also presented at Edgars, Donna and Hank were up for Agathas, Toni and I shared at table at the banquet, and I got to have lunch with Charlaine in Boston the following Wednesday!  A great weekend for catching up.  (Right:  Hank Phillippi Ryan, Sasscer Hill, me, Sarah Smith (who won best YA!).

"Swing Shift" didn't take home the Agatha, but the story was in such strong company, I was delighted to find my story among them.  Congratulations again to MaryJane Maffini, who won, and the nominees:  Barb Goffman, Liz Zelvin, and Sheila Connolly!

I can now tell you:  I will be the Toastmaster for Malice 24!  The Guest of Honor will be Jan Burke, the Lifetime Achievement Honoree will be Simon Brett, Lee Goldberg will receive the Poirot Award, Ruth Sickafus is Fan Guest of Honor, and Malice Remembers Tony Hillerman.  I hope you will join us--I've got the insider scoop, and it's sure to be a blast. 
Enhanced by Zemanta